RIAI Celebrates the Rising Stars of Irish Architecture

14 Dec , 2020  

The Royal Institute of Architects of Ireland (RIAI) has announced the winners in its Future and Student Awards 2020. The awards, which are open to students of architecture and architectural technology, recognise architectural excellence amongst the student body as well as up and coming talent within the profession.

Winning submissions included a proposal to create a new Citizens Assembly forum in Merrion Square, an innovative way to deal with an accommodation problem in residential context including the adaptive reuse of existing buildings, and a proposal to increase diversity along a river walk in Carlow. UCD, TU Dublin, CCAE and Queen’s University, Belfast, were some of the educational institutions represented by the winning students.

Kathryn Meghen said: “Architects are making an important contribution to our built environment, our culture, society and economy and the RIAI is delighted to support and promote the next generation through our awards schemes. Congratulations from the RIAI to all our Award Winners and those who received Commendations.  The submissions received demonstrated exceptional skill and talent in design and I look forward to seeing the contribution our current students make to the profession in the years to come.”

The RIAI also presented the RIAI Future Award, an award for emerging architects, who have been RIAI registered members for ten years or less. The Future Award recognises a new talent in Irish architecture and acknowledges the wide variety of ways in which architects can contribute to the advancement of architecture. This year’s recipients of the Future Award were Jane Larmour from Arigho Larmour Wheeler Architects and Thomas O’Brien from TOB Architect.  Highly Commended were Noreile Breen and Jack O’Kelly, while Niamh Chambers was Commended.

Sandra Campbell, Director of Education at the RIAI, said: “Driving standards in the architecture profession is a core remit of the RIAI, and this begins with the standard of education in our universities as people first develop their career as architects. Our Student Awards recognise the quality of talent in our third level institutions and this year we had a record number of entries. As architects play a key role in how as a society we tackle climate change, the jury noted positively a significant rise in students’ depth of knowledge on sustainable design.”

Student Award Winners

RIAI Scott Tallon Walker Student Excellence Award – Sponsored by Scott Tallon Walker Architects

Open to students of architecture enrolled in Fifth, the final thesis year, and fosters architectural excellence among the student body.

Winner – Eoghan Smith (UCD) Constructive Assembly’
Highly Commended – Dáire English (SAUL) ‘An  Oscillating  Landscape’ 
Commended – Sean Bradley (TU Dublin) ‘Sub/urban’

RIAI Student Award for Sustainable Design – Sponsored by Equitone

Recognises the awareness and integration of sustainable design principles by students as an inherent part of their design approach. The award is open to all students who are currently enrolled in the programmes of Architecture or Architectural Technology.

First Place – Bébhinn Smith (TU Dublin) ‘Healthcare Reimagined: Landscape Strategy + Sheltered Housing in Carlow’
Second Place – Maciej Walkowski (CCAE) ‘Crosse’s Green Community Centre in Cork’
Third Place – Juliette Bosschaert (TU Dublin) ‘Bagnelstown CLT Factory in Carlow’

RIAI Rising Star Award in Architectural Technology Award – Sponsored by Equitone

Recognises an individual third-year student of Architectural Technology.

Winner – Shane Nelson (TU Dublin)
Highly Commended – Ben Hayden (IT Carlow)

RIAI and Architecture Ireland Student Writing Prize – Sponsored by Cedral

The aim of the Student Writing Prize is to nurture and recognise the importance of writing in architecture.

Winner – Gary Hamilton (UCD) ‘Two Kilometres by Twenty Square Metres
Highly Commended – Juliette Moore (QUB), ‘Reimagining the Women-centred Streets of Sailortown’
Commended – Sam Mullan Galvin (CCAE) ‘The Leg and the Column’
Commended – James Pearce (CCAE), ‘A North Kerry Vernacular’